• Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

©2016 BY Foundation for Integrated Resource Management 

Admin@FirmCountry.com | Salt Lake City, Utah



Mr. Summers has served as a Box Elder County commissioner since 2012. In addition to his service in Box Elder County, Mr. Summers is currently vice chairman of both the Utah State Association of County Commissions and Councils (USACCC) and the Bear River Association of Governments (BRAG). In his various leadership roles, Mr. Summers has significant experience managing conflicting land use interests. 



Vice Chair

Mr. Todd is a Duchesne County Commissioner. Serving since January 2015, Mr. Todd is an experienced manager. He serves on the National Association of Counties Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee. Mr. Todd has extensive experience working within the energy industry. Mr. Todd has firsthand experience managing oil rigs in Utah, Wyoming and Colorado. 




Mr. Cannon was a member of the United States House of Representatives, representing the third district of Utah from 1997 to 2009.  Mr. Cannon attended Brigham Young University (BYU) as well as J. Reuben Clark Law School. From 1980 until 1996 he was a lawyer, business owner, and venture capitalist. Other positions include solicitor for the United States Department of the Interior from 1983 to 1986, and time as Utah Republican Party finance chairman



Ms. Benally serves as a in San Juan County Commissioner.  Ms. Benally has worked as an educator and school administrator.  As a member of the Navajo Nation, she has been outspoken on the impact of the designation of the Bears Ears National Monument and the harm that comes with closing such large tracts of public land to responsible multiple-use. Ms. Benally has also served on the San Juan County Mental Health Board, the Navajo Nation Board of Education, the National Congress of American Indians and the National Indian Education Association.


Mr. Clayson serves as a Kane County Commissioner and was a founding member of FIRM’s Board of Directors. Mr. Clayson is passionate about preserving access to the vast federal lands surrounding Kane County. In addition to his service as a Kane County Commissioner, Mr. Clayson serves as a member of both the Kane County Water Conservancy and the Kanab Irrigation Company. Mr. Clayson is a graduate of Utah Valley University.



Mr. Brown is a former Speaker of the House of the Utah House of Representatives.  Mr. Brown championed many public lands issues while serving in the legislature, including an instrumental role in development of the Utah Commission for the Stewardship of Public Lands.  Mr. Brown is a strong advocate for responsible use of public lands as his family has grazed cattle under federal grazing leases for generations.



John Jones is a former Carbon County Commissioner. John is known throughout the state as a passionate public lands and local control advocate.


Much of FIRM's framework comes from John's out of the box thinking and drive to make Utah's public lands healthy and accessible.